Review: Jersey Boys (Prince Edward Theatre)

It’s more than 6 months since the opening of night of Jersey Boys – I originally published my round-up of 1st night reviews back on March 20th! I’ve had tickets booked for most of that time, so it was a relief to actually see the show last night! But was it worth the wait?

I can say with absolute certainty that it was well worth the wait. I can’t remember enjoying a ‘jukebox musical’ this much since I saw Buddy more than 15 years ago! In fact, in many ways, Jersey Boys has the same three key elements that has made Buddy such an enduring hit over the years:

  • A phenomenal set of songs – I bet that there were plenty of people in the audience that didn’t realise how many hits originated from The Four Seasons, particularly the glorious ‘Can’t Take My Eyes Off You’
  • An exciting, but true story – what really makes this show different from the Mamma Mia’s and We Will Rock You‘s of this world is that the plot is the story of their life. On this occasion, real life is far more engrossing than fiction.
  • Brilliant on-stage performances, with both instruments and voices – as with Buddy, I love the fact that the cast play their own instruments. They also have absolutely tremendous voices.

But for me, the thing that makes it so special is the performance of the leading man, Ryan Molloy – his voice is truly remarkable. Apparently he is a recoding artist in his own right (check out his official website for more on this), but he also has some great musical theatre experience. It was a winning combination from where I was sitting.

With all of these elements in place, how could the show fail to be enjoyable?! I’m sure there are things about it that aren’t perfect, but when a show is this fun, I find it hard to nit-pick… I’d rather sit back and enjoy the show and leave the criticism to the reviewers.

If you want a fun night out that doesn’t require any concentration, this is a show I’d have absolutely no hesitation in recommending. I absolutely loved it!

1 Response to “Review: Jersey Boys (Prince Edward Theatre)”


  1. 1 Becky March 13, 2009 at 11:54 pm

    I completely agree with you about Ryan, without him the show wouldnt be anything! his voice is amazing as is his album i love it all and i love him.

    Id reccomend the show to anyone no matter what their age… it is truly perfect!!! in every way, you dont even need a spoonfull of sugar haha!


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

Blog Stats

  • 111,203 hits

