Musicals on my iPod

I’ve just back from holiday, and apart from the 2 shows I saw on Broadway (A Chorus Line and Gypsy), my only musical theatre sustenance has been via my iPod. And given how much time I’ve been spending listening to them, I thought it might be worth sharing some of my favourites with you. So, in alphabetical order, here are 7 CDs that I’d recommend, one for each day of the week…

You can buy any of the CDs on amazon by clicking on the link (and amazon will even pay me a few pence if you do actually buy anything!).

 

  1. [Title of Show] – A brilliant new musical by 2 writers about 2 writers writing a show. You can find out more on the show’s official site or its Wikipedia page, or you can become a fan on facebook. I’m gutted that I didn’t manage to see it while I was in New York
  2. A Chorus Line – Probably one of the greatest musicals ever written, this is the recording from the Broadway production that closed last week. I managed to see it in its final week, and you can find my thoughts here
  3. And the World Goes Round – A revue show of the work of Kander & Ebb, which includes songs from all their hits (Chicago, Cabaret, The Rink). The CD is worth buying if only for the 1 track – the trio where the show’s creators have weaved together 3 numbers from different shows and created a whole that is even more beautiful than the sum of the parts. Who would have thought that ‘Isn’t This Better’, ‘Maybe This Time’ and ‘We Can Make It’ would work so well together?
  4. Bounce – The latest show written by the greatest musical theatre coposer of all time, Stephen Sondheim. This CD was originally recorded back in 2003, and the show has been substantially reworked since then, but it’s still well worth buying. The recently-renamed Road Show (its fourth title!) will be coming to New York (at the Public’s Newman Theater) in October.
  5. Dirty Rotten Scoundrels – A brilliant musical adaptation of the classic Steve Martin film of the same name. This show was written by David Yazbek, and originally starred John Lithgow. Sadly now closed, but has long been rumoured to be coming to London – I’m still keeping my fingers crossed… 
  6. High Fidelity – Another film adaptation, this time written by Tom Kitt. Unfortunately, the show didn’t do so well on Broadway – I’ve written about this before, so if you want to know more, check out my post here
  7. Wearing Someone Else’s Clothes – Not quite a musical, but it is written by Jason Robert Brown, so I thought I could probably justify sneaking it in! A little more info can be found on his website here. My personal favourite on this one is called ‘Nothing in Common’, a song which JRB wrote for his brother’s wedding (see this interview for confirmation)

 

If you are discovering any of these shows for the first time, trust me – they’re worth a listen!

Thankfully normal service is resumed in the next couple of weeks, with tickets already booked to see They’re Playing Our Song, Hairspray, Closer than Ever and Piaf

0 Responses to “Musicals on my iPod”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

Blog Stats

  • 111,558 hits

