Broadway dispatches…

2 days into my trip to the US, and we’ve seen 2 Broadway shows. The prices over here no longer seem as ridiculous as they did a few years’ back – I guess that’s a combination of a great exchange rate and massive inflation on ticket prices in London. But anyway, I’m on holiday, so who’s counting!

I’m on holiday, so I’m limiting myself to a few thoughts, rather than trying to write complete reviews… so here goes:

 

A Chorus Line

  • Surprisingly entralling for a show where nothing really ‘happens’ – in some ways, it’s rather Sondheim-esque
  • The lack of interval was slightly frustrating, accentuated by the tiredness which comes from a 5-hr time difference on your first day in New York. I understand that the lack of break retains the momentum, but nearly 2 hours is a long time to sit in one seat
  • Stong cast, although a few of them were more comfortable with the dancing than they were wit the singing, but it didn’t make too much difference.
  • One thing I have found rather strange on Broadway is how later the theatre doors open. I’ve never had to sit outside a theatre on a step before, despite only arriving 30 mins beforehand… and the idea of queueing to get into a theatre that I have allocated seating for also strikes me as slightly odd!
  • Mario Lopez was far better than I expected – I remember him as A.C. Slater in ‘Saved by the Bell’, so seeing him on stage brought back memories
  • In summary, a really impressive revival of a great show

 

Gypsy

  • This new producting is directed by the show’s writer, Arthur Laurents. Apparently he was so appalled by the recent Sam Mendes production, starring Bernadette Peters, that he felt compelled to do a better version himself – he has definitely succeeded.
  • Possible the most uncomfortable theatre seats I have ever had to sit in – by the time I untangled myself after nearly 3 hours, I could barely move… no legroom and no armroom – an impressive combination
  • It’s a show I really didn’t know before seeing it, and it’s a lot of fun – some great musical numbers, and just a good old-fashioned Broadway musical.
  • Patti LuPone is a stupendous leading lady. I really dislike her voice, which grates constantly, but who cares – she is an amazing actress and a real star. I felt privileged to have seen her in this show…
  • Also, is Patti LuPone related to Victoria Wood? From my seat in the Circle, they could have been sisters, but looking at photos of her on Google Images suggests that they’re not quite as similar as I remember.
  • Brilliant performances from the 2 other supporting actors – Boyd Gaines and Laura Benanti – clearly well-deserved Tony awards.

 

Tonight it’s a trip to Birdland to see Broadway stars on their night off… should be fun…

2 Responses to “Broadway dispatches…”


  1. 1 Rogue Zentradi August 13, 2008 at 11:44 am

    You *are* seeing Xanadu, right?


  1. 1 Musicals on my iPod « Coloured Lights Trackback on August 26, 2008 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

Blog Stats

  • 111,558 hits

