I’d Do Anything – the semi-final betting odds

With less than 2 hours to go until the start of the semi-final of I’d Do Anything, I’m checking out the betting odds to see who the bookies expect to win the show…

Who’s going home tonight according to the bookies?
According the odds comparison, Rachel is expected to leave this week. She is the odds-on favourite with all the bookies, and it looks like they aren’t expecting there to be any competition at all. Jodie is considered the next-most-likely to leave, but with odds of at least 3/1, she’s some way from Rachel. Jessie and Samantha have much higher odds, which probably reflects the fact that neither of the girls has been in the bottom two so far this series, and both seem to be the favourites of the man who matters, Andrew Lloyd Webber.

I’m not surprised by the fact that it’s the two older girls who are expected to leave. ALW hasn’t exactly hidden his preference for one of the youngsters, which I still find very strange given his worries in recent series about whether someone so young could cope with 8 shows a week. I assume that Sir Cameron Mackintosh has told ALW who he wants to see as Nancy, so maybe he’s not worried. Personally, if I was the Producer of the show, I would be very concerned about whether Jessie is really ready – she is definitely talented, but seems to be the weakest actress, and hasn’t really improved in the last month of the show.

 

Who do I think will leave?
Whilst it doesn’t look like Rachel is especially popular, I still think she might just sneak through the final because of her training and the fact that she’s a safe pair of hands. I have a sneaky suspicion that Jessie’s luck might just run out this time around, and she could find herself in the bottom 2 with Rachel tonight. If she does, ALW will have a very tough choice to make, but I think he might just save Rachel. Jessie is the biggest risk in terms of experience so a trio of Rachel, Jodie and Sam in the final would probably be the best choice from a producer’s perspective. It would probably also secure a victory for Sam as I would have thought that most Jessie fans would switch their support to the other teenager in the event of an early departure for her this time around.

 

Who’s going to win the show according to the bookies?
Judging by the latest odds, it’s going to be a very close fight between Jessie and Sam to win the series, with Sam coming out as the favourite at the moment. The bookies don’t think that Rachel has any chance at all, and given that she is only one of the remaining to have been in the sing-off (twice, in fact), the bookies are almost certainly right on this one.

 

Who do I expect to win?
I can see 2 different scenarios, depending on who departs tonight.

  1. Rachel leaves tonight, and Jodie goes on to win the series. Although Sam pushes her close, Jodie is still very popular, and just sneaks it because of her experience.
  2. Jessie leaves tonight, and Samantha goes on to win the series (as with my explanation above). Jessie’s voters support Samanth as they want one of the younger girls to win, and the combined support is just too much to stop Jodie.

Obviously if Rachel does go tonight, Samantha may still be popular enough to win the series, but an eviction for Jessie would certainly help her. If I were her, I’d be trashing Jessie when asked who is not Nancy!

I still haven’t made up my mind who I want to win the series, but by the end of tomorrow, all may become clear (although it’s still possible that I won’t want any of the girls to win!).

Enjoy the show.

5 Responses to “I’d Do Anything – the semi-final betting odds”


  1. 1 Karen Dempsey May 25, 2008 at 9:31 am

    Personally, I think Jessie has the best voice of the bunch, her voice is like velvet and I could listen to it all day and when she is singing her emotions play across her face beautifully. Sam, to me looks like she is going to be a major pop star – she has the look, the moves and the voice for that, I’m not sure it would even be in her interests to win this as it would stall her potential pop career for a couple of years, also if I was honest I don’t think she has the emotioal depth to play a Nancy that touches your heart. Jodi, is a lovely person and obviously talented but I don’t think she has the charisma for a major west end production.

  2. 2 Laura May 26, 2008 at 3:01 pm

    no chance of sam winning.

    jessie all the way!!

  3. 3 julia May 29, 2008 at 1:30 am

    I love jessie she is so natural. Jessie to win


  1. 1 I’d Do Anything - the semi final live show « Coloured Lights Trackback on May 25, 2008 at 3:48 pm
  2. 2 I’d Do Anything - 2 days until the final… « Coloured Lights Trackback on May 29, 2008 at 3:11 pm

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

Blog Stats

  • 111,849 hits

