I’d Do Anything – Week 8 post-mortem

It’s now Monday morning, so the dust has settled on last night’s results show… and I am still very, very angry about the result. If you want to see my run-down of Saturday night’s live show, check out my Sunday post here.

Apologies in advance if this seems a little more of a rant than usual…

The bottom 2
Completely and utterly ridiculous – how is it possible that the viewing public managed to pit the 2 strongest remaining Nancy’s against each other in the sing-off? I was absolutely livid when the results were announced, and I have lost my faith in the people who vote on this show. At least on this occasion, Andrew Lloyd Webber wasn’t to blame… he had an impossible decision to make, and ended up taking the safer bet. Rachel hasn’t received any criticism at all this series, so it would have been a travesty for her to have gone. Having said that, Sarah has gone from strength to strength over recent weeks, and had by far the best voice in the competition. How she did not make it to the final, I will never know…

So who should have gone?
I’ve been pretty transparent about my views in the last few weeks, and this weekend was no different. There was only 1 person that deserved to go from where I was watching, and that was Niamh. Despite the judges’ praise this week, I didn’t think she did anywhere near enough to stay. Yes – her performance was better than last week, but it just wasn’t interesting enough, and her acting range whilst singing is limited.

To be honest, it was hard to decide who else should have been in the bottom 2 with her this week. I was actually expecting Samantha to struggle this week, but she gave a great performance (albeit of an easy number vocally), so deserved to stay. I thought Ashley did really well, but ultimately she doesn’t have the support of the judges, so probably should have been in that bottom 2. As I predicted, the voting public is once again showing sympathy for her because of the criticism she has received from ALW. He’s now probably regretting being quite so over the top during the week he was in Vegas.

The judges
Well, at least Barry Humphries has shown some improvement over the weeks – unfortunately, you could still count the number of perceptive comments that he has made this series on one hand… and I blame him for Sarah’s departure yesterday. His comments on her apparent lack of facial expressions were absolute nonsense, but worryingly, the voting public might have listened to him.

As for Denise and John, they were fine, but they seem to verge from one extreme to the other. A few weeks back, John thought Samantha had nothing behind her eyes; now he can’t say a bad word about her. Last week, Jessie got a fair bit of criticism; this week it was the best performance of the series. And most confusingly of all, after criticising Niamh last week, they seem to have forgotten their worries and praised what was another average performance.

Is there an agenda?
I’ve been saying it for a few weeks now, but I can’t help thinking that there’s some favouritism being shown to the younger contestants. After the pretty fierce criticism that the show received from Kevin Spacey (and others), having 3 untrained youngsters in the final 6 seems a good way of answering those critics. It does seem a bit of an about-turn from previous series, when ALW has worried constantly about the finalists’ ability to carry a show for 8 performances a week. Why is he not worried this time around?

The song choices
The best week apart from the musical theatre themed week – some great numbers, which actually gave us a chance to see whether people could act or not.. I’d still rather see more musical theatre numbers, but it was a step in the right direction…

So, who’s going to win
Based on what we’ve seen this week, I think we’ll end up with a final 3 of Rachel, Jodie and one of Samantha or Jessie. I expect Ashley‘s luck to run out soon, and Niamh to go as well. Given ALW’s comments yesterday, I’d expect to him to want at least one safe pair of hands in the final, and Rachel definitely ticks that box…  Now that Sarah has gone, I’ll be casting my vote for Rachel in the coming weeks (although I am holiday for the next 2 shows)…

 

If you liked this post, do check out some of the other things I have written – this blog is only about theatre, but it’s not just about ‘I’d Do Anything’…

6 Responses to “I’d Do Anything – Week 8 post-mortem”


  1. 1 Leafy May 5, 2008 at 2:40 pm

    I agree with you, Coloured Lights. I was amazed at the bottom two – can’t understand it, although I do think Sarah’s song had a bearing on the result. She did a great job but Mr Bojangles is a man’s song and she should never have had it to sing. I think ALW more or less admitted that himself at the end. As for Rachel, well – maybe that cracked note put her in the sing-off. Zoe would definitely have had a lot to say about that!She was adamant last year that there should be no bum notes.Personally, I don’t care for Rachel at all. She just doesn’t convince me and I can’t warm to her. Jessie is my fave and has been from the start. I think her voice is sublime and she’d make a great Nancy.I like Ashley more and more but don’t rate Niamh. She’s very pretty but that’s not enough! Sam ditto. Jodie is too over the top for me though she makes me laugh a lot! Unfortunately, I think Ashley will be next to go.

  2. 2 Carol May 5, 2008 at 5:30 pm

    Quite agree – I liked Fran, Sarah and Jodie – Jodie didn’t shine this week, Sarah was given a rotten song and the others all had big numbers so she suffered by comparison. Jessie is now back in the running after this week (liked her at the auditions but then she seemed to go totally off the boil!) and Rachel does absolutely nothing for me. I now don’t care who wins and certainly won’t see the show.

  3. 3 jc May 6, 2008 at 7:42 pm

    I agree with you! the bottom 2 was terrible sarah should have never gone.

    http://www.myspace.com/sarahlarkfanspace

  4. 4 motormouth mabel May 21, 2008 at 11:35 am

    Whats happened to your blog on i’d do anything. i really enjoyed your views?

  5. 5 Jon May 21, 2008 at 11:49 am

    I have been on holiday for 2 weeks, and just returned yesterday… I am in the process of catching up on the 2 shows that I’ve missed, and plan to blog about them (in summary form only) before this weekend’s semi finals!

    So far, I have watched the week 9 live show (10th May), and I’ll be watching the results show tonight!

    Check back later in the week and I should have something for you…


  1. 1 I’d Do Anything - week 8 round-up « Coloured Lights Trackback on May 5, 2008 at 1:19 pm

Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

Blog Stats

  • 111,558 hits

