I’d Do Anything – week 6 post-mortem

Week 6 Sing-off

This post refers to the live shows on Saturday 19th and Sunday 20th April (the 4th live show).
I wrote a post on Sunday with my reaction to Saturday’s live show, with a run-down of each of the performances. Click here to read that post.

It’s now Monday morning, and the dust has settled on this weekend’s shows. Looking back at the 2 programmes, there’s a mix of huge frustration with ALW’s behaviour, coupled with relief about the decision he eventually managed to make.

Andrew Lloyd Webber’s behaviour
Andrew’s reaction to Ashley was totally unacceptable. She is not my favourite in the competition, and it looks like she is not popular enough with the viewing public to win. Despite that, I think she is a good performer with a strong voice, who has put in some excellent performances in the last 2 weeks. Whilst she wasn’t fantastic this weekend, she was nowhere near the worst on the night, and did not deserve the entirely unconstructive criticism that she received from ALW. As John Barrowman said, what was the point of putting her through to the live shows if he was that against her?! Frankly, I also worry about his judgement if he doesn’t rate her, but adores Niamh, whose voice seems to be getting worse each week.

His reaction and comments were the type of behaviour that suggests that ‘I’d Do Anything’ is coming increasingly close to cr*p like ‘Pop Idol’, where the judges have to be cruel to get viewers. I really hope that this is an aberration that can be blamed on jet-lag, and next week ALW realises his error and apologises to Ashley on live TV.

The result
Right, now I’ve got that off my chest, onto the result. I was pretty surprised that Ashley was in the bottom 2. With ALW’s comments, I thought she would get the sympathy vote, but apparently not. I worry about her staying much longer in the show …

I was pleased to see Francesca in the bottom 2 this time around (as you’ll see from my response written on Sunday here). I find that her voice grates, and for someone who is already a professional, it’s just not acceptable to have the kind of tuning issues that she displays week after week. She needs to address that issue fast, and if she can, I’m sure she’ll be back in the West End soon.

Personally, I thought Keisha should have gone this week, after a truly underwhelming performance. I suspect the audience might have felt slightly guilty after 2 weeks in the sing-off. I’d be surprised if this was more than a temporary reprieve…

The favourites
No change here with my overall favourites for the competition. Sarah did another superb job, and the judges seemed to think that the change in hair colour made a difference. Rachel is still my number 1 though, with another brilliant rendition of her song. That’s 4 live shows, and still no negative comments from the judges. Definitely the Lee Mead of this series.

Jessie did another good job, but I want to see her challenged more. Her performances have started to get slightly ‘samey’ in last couple of weeks, and she needs to do more to show that she is a real contender. 

For my full thoughts on the performances, check out my other post, so I don’t have to repeat it all here!

The shock
Where did Samantha’s performance come from?! Her vocal was spectacular this week and shocked me. Definitely right back in the competition…

The most over-rated
I am really confused about why Niamh is so popular with the judges. They seem to have forgotten their worries about whether untrained 18 year olds can play such a demanding role for 8 performances a week… They also seem not to notice that she has the weakest voice in the competition by far. Yes, she has stage presence, but how can that be enough. I can’t help feeling that there might be an agenda here to push the inexperienced girls to answer criticisms that the show is not discovering new talent…

The song choices
After a good week last time around, we reverted back to type. The song choices were absolute dross, and many of the choices made it very hard for the girls to do a great job. This is a show about musicals, so please stop making them sing average power ballads!

The judges
Barry’s
improvement continues, but he’s still very frustrating. At least he’s starting to give criticism as well as praise (occasionally).

John deserves real credit this week, as it was his words that saved Ashley. He spoke out and was willing to challenge ALW, and in the end, he was listened to. Good to know that ALW is occasionally listening to the opinions of the judges.

 

Overall, another exciting week, but a little too much focus on the ‘story’. I know I’m a bit of a purist, but I want more focus on ability and less on the story! Roll on next week…

3 Responses to “I’d Do Anything – week 6 post-mortem”


  1. 1 Paul Savage April 22, 2008 at 6:36 am

    I guess everyone is entitled to their opinion but to berate ALW for his comments about Ashley and in the next breath do exactly the same yourself about Niamh is somewhat of a double standard!!!!!!!!!!

  2. 2 Jon April 22, 2008 at 7:28 am

    That’s a fair comment Paul.

    In my defence though, I am not the one being watched by millions of people each week! I would also be pretty surprised if Niamh was checking this blog for feedback!

    Thanks for reading though…

  3. 3 Haylee April 23, 2008 at 8:14 pm

    I think Niamh has a great voice but is not quite right for the role fo Nancy. Rachel is the professionl, like Leed Mead, so I think someone new and younger should get the role!

    Jessie is my favourite, but I do agree that she should be challenged a bit more. However, she is still amazing every week and so inspiring to girls like me.

    I’m only 15 and my dream is to be on stage performing! People like Jessie have inspired me to work hard to get better and better at my singing and acting!

    Keep writing these blog things, they’re great to read and funny lol

    Haylee


Leave a Reply

Add to Technorati Favorites

Blog Stats

  • 111,849 hits

